Diese Seite ist nur auf Englisch verfügbar

Sweden And Finland To Join NATO

The US Senate voted and approved a resolution to support the entry into NATO of two more countries: Sweden and Finland. There are currently 30 countries in the alliance, and these two have sought to become members.

In May, Finland and Sweden announced that they planned to join NATO, and thus they would no longer adhere to their previous position of "neutrality". The reason for this decision of the countries was the events after February 24, therefore, on May 18, applications were submitted from two countries. To join NATO, all 30 countries of the alliance must ratify the accession, and after the US vote, there are still 7 members left.

Membership has already been ratified by Albania, the UK, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Norway, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, the Netherlands and Estonia.  

Although most of the NATO countries have already accepted the entry of Finland, there remains, for example, Turkey, which previously opposed the entry of Finland and Sweden into the alliance and set conditions for this.

Your experience on this website will be improved by allowing cookies.